Local Volunteers Recognised for their Tireless Efforts

Twelve people from the Football South region are among the 70 people nationwide who have been recognised by the federation and New Zealand Football for their volunteer efforts. These people are among the hundreds who give up their time for the good of the  game across our federation.

The spotlight turned to such dedicated individuals this month as the annual National Volunteering Week was held by Volunteering New Zealand, who each year seek to recognise and celebrate the vital contribution of the country’s approximately 1.2 million volunteers to sport, social development, the economy and the environment.

New Zealand Football marked the week with a federation-based recognition initiative that has resulted in some of the sport’s most deserving volunteers being thanked for their efforts. A total of $3,500 in MTA gift vouchers was provided by New Zealand Football and these have now been awarded to worthy recipients from each of the seven federations.

At least ten volunteers from every region were singled out for their admirable commitment to the beautiful game but there were hundreds to choose from after a positive reaction to the nomination process from the footballing public.

“We are in our second year formally acknowledging the volunteers in football from around the country and this will be an annual fixture for us going forward,” says New Zealand Football Community Development Manager Jamie Milne.

“It is a great time to be involved in football, especially volunteering, and on behalf of New Zealand Football, I want to thank all those who are contributing to our sport. Well done, keep it up and feel proud of your efforts, we are very grateful to you all,” Milne says.

The full list of MTA voucher recipients for their sterling volunteering efforts from the Football South region is as follows:

  • Mark Stratford (Temuka United),
  • Rob and Kerri-Anne Bray (Roslyn Wakari),
  • Chris and Megan Lynch (Meadowbank United),
  • Alison White (Meadowbank United),
  • Nicky Standring (Mosgiel),
  • Lynn King (Green Island),
  • Greig Evans (Old Boys),
  • Peter Evans (Roslyn Wakari),
  • Gavin Wheeler (Dunedin Technical),
  • Simon Willetts (Meadowbank United)

Congratulations to all recipients. We’ll provide profiles on each recipient on our Facebook page over the next week to recognise their efforts.